Overview of the jDownloads Tools
jDownloads has a set of 12 Tools, as shown opposite, that assist in various ways.
They maybe considered in sets:
1. Backup & Backup Restoration
2. Options Export, Import and Reset
3. Install Sample Data
4. Reset Downloads Counters
5. Reset Categories and Downloads Permissions
6.Clean up the Image and Preview File Folders
7. Batch Processing Lock (this is the 'blank' one at the end of the list).
Backup & Backup Restore
At te foot of te form there is an option which is to include or not the data logs. The log file concerned is only required when, in the User Group Settings, you have defined downloading limits in the Limits tab and also in the Group Settings tab you have set the option 'View User Limits' is set to Yes. For more information about User Limits click on Setting User Limits (opens in a separate window/tab).
After clicking on the Create backup File button jD will generate a txt file whose name is formed from the text 'backup', the version of jDownloads and the date and time for saving on your device. An example file would be "backup_jdownloads_v4.0.27_Stable_date_2023-06-02_22 51 18_.txt".
It contains the data base entries for Categories, Downloads, Licenses, Layouts, Logs (if selected), User Groups Settings and the Permission settings.
There is also a warning that Tags and Fields cannot be stored in the backup.
If you go to the jD Control panel and click on the tab you will see an entry such as shown opposite.
Options Export, Import and Reset
The User Group settings are not included
After clicking on the Create backup File button jD will generate a txt file whose name is formed from the the site name', the version of jDownloads and the date and time for saving on your device. An example file would be "jdx39B_options__jD_v4.0.27_Stable_date_2023-06-03_13-21-39.txt".
You will be asked "Are you sure?. Select OK to continue or Cancel to abort.
If there is an error you should see a message such as shown opposite.
After initiating the restore an 'Are you sure?' popup message will appear. Click OK to continue.
On completion you will see a message such as .
Reset Downloads Counters
If you click on then the Dowloads counts are set to zero. That is for example if the number of times downloaded for a download was then after the reset it will be zero . You cannot undo this reset.
There is no recovery except to once again set the permissions as required.
Afterwards the permission was reset to 'inherited'.
Clicking on the has a significant effect as in the example the Create, Edit, Edit State and Edit Own were all set explicitly to 'Allowed' in each top level Category so that they cascade down to the sub-categories and then the Downloads.
All are now, as expected, set to 'Inherited'. This is not desirable in most permission schemes!
However if you have used Deny permission anywhere or the permissions are 'messed up' this does give a new starting place to set them properly.
Clean up Images and Previews
Clicking on the Button will delete all those image files, and the corresponding thumbnail files, that are not linked to any Download. This situation arrises when a Download is deleted and Options setting in Global Settings - 'Delete images from deleted Downloads' is set to the default of No.
Preview files, both audio and video, are stored in directory jdownloads/_preview_files.
Similarly Clicking on the Button will delete all those preview files that are not linked to any Download. This situation arrises when a Download is deleted and Options setting in Global Settings - 'Delete preview files from any deleted Download' is set to the default of No.
Batch Processing Lock
Whilst the 'batch processing' of categories or downloads is in progress then jDownloads sets a software 'LOCK' to inhibit any changes by other users. If something should cause the batch processing to fail then the 'LOCK' may remain set, thus inhibiting other changes. Attempting to make a change will, after a delay, result in an error message like 'Another batch operation is still in progress. Please try again later'.
To recover from the situation the software 'LOCK' can be reset manually here. It is only active when the 'LOCK' is set.
ColinM July 2021, modified June 2023